Texon Santa Fe Depot Museum
Texas Attractions: Texon Santa Fe Depot Museum
Address: 5821 Moss Avenue, Odessa, Texas
About the Texon Santa Fe Depot Museum:
Housed in a restored railroad depot, the Texon Santa Fe Depot Museum displays Lionel O Gauge trains and also allows for a real railroad handcar ride.
The museum is open only by appointment, so call the number listed above to schedule a visit.
The history of this building is pretty interesting, starting with the name "Texon." That's the name of a small town founded in 1924 by the Big Lake Oil Company on a railroad line owned by the Kansas City, Mexico, and Orient of Texas Railroad.
The Santa Fe railroad purchased the line in 1928 and in 1930 added a 24-foot by 64-foot standard depot at Texon. The depot was retired in 1958, then purchased and moved to Sheffield, Texas, where it was used as a feed store.
It was purchased again by a resident of Rankin, Texas, with the plan to move it to land along the Llano River for conversion into living quarters. However, land-use restrictions prevented that from happening.
In 2002, the depot was again purchased, and this time moved from Sheffield to its present location in Odessa, where it was restored and converted into this private railroad museum.
More Texas Attractions
More about Odessa, Texas